Chinese-American Chemistry & Chemical Biology Professors Association (CAPA)

2022 CAPA Symposium at USF 

We are excited to announce the 2022 CAPA Symposium at, which will be held on 12/22/2022 on the campus of University of South Florida in Tampa. CAPA used to host annual meetings in China, which as of now is still practically difficult to resume. Alternatively, we are initiating a symposium series in the United States with the inaugural event to be held in the University of South Florida – our sincere thanks to Xiaodong Shi and Jianfeng Cai for graciously agreeing to host.

The full day symposium will be held on 12/22/2022 and is free to CAPA members. Unfortunately, we will not be able to cover traveling and lodging. A tentative list of speakers is listed below. We hope you can join us in the beautiful Tampa for great science as well as a great opportunity to catch up with old friends and make new ones.  A limited number of speaking slots remain available and will be prioritized for junior colleagues. If you plan to attend, please kindly let any of us on the CAPA team know (see contact info below) by Oct 31, 2022.

Tentative list of speakers:

Xuefei Huang - Michigan State University

Mingji Dai - Emory University

Hao Xu - Brandeis University

Huiwang Ai - University of Virginia

Lei Fang – Texas A & M University

Qiang Zhang – University of Albany

Rongsheng Wang - Temple University

Jia Niu - Boston College

Jingxin Wang - University of Kansas

Xin Yan – Texas A & M University

Xiaoyu Zhang – Northwestern University

Huiqing Zhou - Boston College

Xin Cui – Mississippi state University

Haifan Wu - Wichita State University

Guangbin Dong – University of Chicago (tentative yes)

Qiu Wang – Duke University (tentative yes)

Jin Wang - Baylor (tentative yes)

Yong Zhang – USC (tentative yes)

Ming Chen - Auburn University (tentative yes)

Congratulations to 2021-22 CAPA Award Winners

CAPA Distinguished Faculty Award (US)

Wang, Qiu – Associate Professor, Duke University

CAPA Distinguished Faculty Award (China)

He, Le –  Professor, Soochow University

CAPA Distinguished Junior Faculty Award (US)

Chen, Ou – Assistant Professor, Brown University

Zhang, Sen – Assistant Professor, University of Virginia

OKeanos-CAPA Senior Investigator Award at the Chemical and Biology Interface (US or China)

Wu, Peng – Associate Professor, Scripps Research Institute

OKeanos-CAPA Young Investigator Award at the Chemical and Biology Interface (US or China)

Liu, Yu – PI, Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Our whole-hearted congratulations to the awardees!

Let's also thank the members of the 2021 CAPA Award Selection Committee: Xi Chen (Chair), Jiaoyang Jiang, Wenshe Liu, Wenfang Sun, Binghe Wang, Qian Wang

CAPA History

The Chinese-American Chemistry & Chemical Biology Professors Association is a non-profit and apolitical organization. CAPA was founded in 2002 by co-founders Zhen Huang, Lin Pu and Binghe Wang. It was officially registered in Georgia, USA on January 14, 2008.

Current Officials (07/01/2020 - 06/30/2022):

Jianmin Gao (President, Boston College)

Xiaodong Shi (Vice president, Univ. South Florida)

Wenshe Liu (Secretary/Communication Director, Texas A&M Univ) 

Jianfeng Cai (Treasurer, University of South Florida)


CAPA Board Members

Chengzhi Cai (University of Houston,

Shaowei Chen (University of California, Santa Cruz,

Xi Chen (University of California, Davis,

Li Deng (Brandeis University,

Bing Gong (SUNY at Buffalo,

Xiangming Guan (South Dakota State University,

Hua Guo (University of New Mexico,

Zhongwu Guo (University of Florida,

Chuan He (University of Chicago,

Xuefei Huang (Michigan State University,

Zhen Huang (Georgia State University,

Jing Li (Rutgers Univeristy,

Wenbin Lin (University of North Carolina,

Rihe Liu (University of North Carolina,

Lin Pu (University of Virginia,

Yigong Shi (Tsinghua University,

Wenfang Sun (North Dakota State University,

Zucai Suo (Ohio State University,

Weihong Tan (University of Florida,

Binghe Wang (Georgia State University,

Lai-Xi Wang (University of Maryland,

Peng George Wang (Georgia State University,

Qian Wang (University of South Carolina,

Wei Wang (University of New Mexico,

Zhonglin Wang (Georgia Institute of Technology,

Mingdi Yan (University of Massachusetts Lowell,

Lihe Zhang (Peking University,

Xumu Zhang (Southern University of Science and Techcnology,

Zhaohui (Sunny) Zhou (Northeastern University,

Zhihao Zhuang (University of Delaware,

CAPA Bylaws


Membership Application and Renewal Form

Please mail the completed form and a check payable to CAPA to

Xiangming Guan, Ph.D.
Box 2202 C, College of Pharmacy
South Dakota State University
Brookings, SD 57007